Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Trinidad and Tobago Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
      conventional short form: Trinidad and Tobago

      Data code TD

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      National capital Port-of-Spain

      Administrative divisions 8 counties, 3 municipalities*, and 1 ward**; Arima*, Caroni, Mayaro, Nariva, Port-of-Spain*, Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint Patrick, San Fernando*, Tobago**, Victoria

      Independence 31 August 1962 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 31 August (1962)

      Constitution 1 August 1976

      Legal system based on English common law; judicial review of legislative acts in the Supreme Court; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Arthur Napoleon Raymond ROBINSON (since 19 March 1997)
      head of government: Prime Minister Basdeo PANDAY (since 9 November 1995)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed from among the members of Parliament
      elections: president elected by an electoral college that consists of the members of the Senate and House of Representatives for a five-year term; election last held NA February 1997 (next to be held NA 2002); prime minister appointed from among the members of Parliament; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party in the House of Representatives is usually appointed prime minister
      election results: Arthur Napoleon Raymond ROBINSON elected president; percent of electoral college vote - 69%

      Legislative branch bicameral Parliament consists of a Senate (31 seats; members appointed by the president for a maximum term of five years) and a House of Representatives (36 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: House of Representatives - last held 6 November 1995 (next to be held by December 2000)
      election results: House of Representatives - percent of vote - PNM 52%, UNC 42.2%, NAR 5.2%; seats by party - PNM 15, UNC 19, NAR 1, independent 1; note - the UNC formed a coalition with the NAR
      note: Tobago has a unicameral House of Assembly with 15 members serving four-year terms

      Judicial branch Court of Appeal, judges are appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister; Supreme Court, judges are appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister

      Political parties and leaders People's National Movement (PNM), Patrick MANNING; United National Congress (UNC), Basdeo PANDAY; National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR), Nizam MOHAMMED; Movement for Social Transformation (MOTION), David ABDULLAH; National Joint Action Committee (NJAC), Makandal DAAGA; National Development Party (NDP), Carson CHARLES; Movement for Unity and Progress (MUP), Hulsie BHAGGAN

      International organization participation ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-24, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNU, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador-designate Michael A. ARNEAUD
      chancery: 1708 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 467-6490
      FAX: [1] (202) 785-3130
      consulate(s) general: Miami and New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Edward E. SHUMAKER, III
      embassy: 15 Queen's Park West, Port-of-Spain
      mailing address: P. O. Box 752, Port-of-Spain
      telephone: [1] (809) 622-6372 through 6376, 6176
      FAX: [1] (809) 628-5462

      Flag description red with a white-edged black diagonal band from the upper hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Trinidad and Tobago on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Trinidad and Tobago Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Trinidad and Tobago Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)