Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Angola Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Angola
      conventional short form: Angola
      local long form: Republica de Angola
      local short form: Angola
      former: People's Republic of Angola

      Data code AO

      Government type transitional government, nominally a multiparty democracy with a strong presidential system

      National capital Luanda

      Administrative divisions 18 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia); Bengo, Benguela, Bie, Cabinda, Cuando Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uige, Zaire

      Independence 11 November 1975 (from Portugal)

      National holiday Independence Day, 11 November (1975)

      Constitution 11 November 1975; revised 7 January 1978, 11 August 1980, 6 March 1991, and 26 August 1992

      Legal system based on Portuguese civil law system and customary law; recently modified to accommodate political pluralism and increased use of free markets

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS (since 21 September 1979)
      head of government: Prime Minister Fernando Franca VAN DUNEM (since 8 June 1996)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
      elections: President DOS SANTOS originally elected without opposition under a one-party system and stood for reelection in Angola's first multiparty elections in 28-29 September 1992, the last elections to be held, (next to be held NA); prime minister appointed by the president and answerable to the Assembly
      election results: DOS SANTOS received 49.6% of the total vote, making a run-off election necessary between him and second-place finisher Jonas SAVIMBI; the run-off was not held and SAVIMBI's National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) repudiated the results of the first election; the civil war was resumed

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Assembleia Nacional (220 seats; members elected by proportional vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 29-30 September 1992 (next to be held NA)
      election results: percent of vote by party - MPLA 54%, UNITA 34%, others 12%; seats by party - NA

      Judicial branch Supreme Court or Tribunal da Relacao, judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the president

      Political parties and leaders Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola or MPLA [Jose Eduardo DOS SANTOS], is the ruling party and has been in power since 1975; National Union for the Total Independence of Angola or UNITA [Jonas SAVIMBI], is the largest opposition party and engaged in years of armed resistance before joining the current unity government in April 1997
      note: about a dozen minor parties participated in the 1992 elections but won few seats and have little influence in the National Assembly

      Political pressure groups and leaders Front for the Liberation of the Enclave of Cabinda or FLEC
      note: FLEC is waging a small-scale, highly factionalized, armed struggle for the independence of Cabinda Province

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, CCC, CEEAC (observer), ECA, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, NAM, OAS (observer), OAU, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Antonio dos Santos FRANCA "N'dalu"
      chancery: 1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 760, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 785-1156
      FAX: [1] (202) 785-1258

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Donald K. STEINBERG
      embassy: No. 32 Rua Houari Boumedienne, Miramar, Luanda
      mailing address: International mail: Caixa Postal 6484, Luanda; Pouch: American Embassy Luanda, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-2550
      telephone: [244] (2) 345-481, 346-418
      FAX: [244] (2) 346-924

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and black with a centered yellow emblem consisting of a five-pointed star within half a cogwheel crossed by a machete (in the style of a hammer and sickle)

      NOTE: The information regarding Angola on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Angola Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Angola Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)