Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Argentina Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Argentine Republic
      conventional short form: Argentina
      local long form: Republica Argentina
      local short form: Argentina

      Data code AR

      Government type republic

      National capital Buenos Aires

      Administrative divisions 23 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia), and 1 federal district* (distrito federal); Buenos Aires; Catamarca; Chaco; Chubut; Cordoba; Corrientes; Distrito Federal*; Entre Rios; Formosa; Jujuy; La Pampa; La Rioja; Mendoza; Misiones; Neuquen; Rio Negro; Salta; San Juan; San Luis; Santa Cruz; Santa Fe; Santiago del Estero; Tierra del Fuego, Antartida e Islas del Atlantico Sur; Tucuman
      note: the US does not recognize any claims to Antarctica

      Independence 9 July 1816 (from Spain)

      National holiday Revolution Day, 25 May (1810)

      Constitution 1 May 1853; revised August 1994

      Legal system mixture of US and West European legal systems; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Carlos Saul MENEM (since 8 July 1989); Vice President Carlos RUCKAUF (since 8 July 1995); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Carlos Saul MENEM (since 8 July 1989); Vice President Carlos RUCKAUF (since 8 July 1995); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president
      elections: president and vice president elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year terms; election last held 14 May 1995 (next to be held 1999)
      election results: Carlos Saul MENEM reelected president; percent of vote - NA

      Legislative branch bicameral National Congress or Congreso Nacional consists of the Senate (72 seats; formerly, three members appointed by each of the provincial legislatures; presently transitioning to one-third of the members being elected every three years to a nine-year term) and the Chamber of Deputies (257 seats; one-half of the members elected every two years to four-year terms)
      elections: Senate - last held NA May 1995 (next to be held NA 1998); Chamber of Deputies - last held 26 October 1997 (next to be held NA 1999)
      election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PJ 39, UCR 1, others 32; Chamber of Deputies - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PJ 119, UCR 69, Frepaso 36, other 33

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (Corte Suprema), the nine Supreme Court judges are appointed by the president with approval of the Senate

      Political parties and leaders Justicialist Party or PJ [Carlos Saul MENEM] (Peronist umbrella political organization); Radical Civic Union or UCR [Fernando DE LA RUA]; Union of the Democratic Center or UCD (conservative party); Dignity and Independence Political Party or MODIN (right-wing party); Front for a Country in Solidarity or Frepaso (a four party coalition) [leader Carlos ALVAREZ]; Action for the Republic [Domingo CAVALLO]; New Leadership [Gustavo BELIZ]; several provincial parties

      Political pressure groups and leaders Peronist-dominated labor movement; General Confederation of Labor or CGT (Peronist-leaning umbrella labor organization); Argentine Industrial Union (manufacturers' association); Argentine Rural Society (large landowners' association); Argentine Association of Pharmaceutical Labs (CILFA); business organizations; students; the Roman Catholic Church; the Armed Forces

      International organization participation AfDB, AG (observer), Australia Group, BCIE, CCC, ECLAC, FAO, G- 6, G-11, G-15, G-19, G-24, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, LAES, LAIA, Mercosur, MINUGUA, MINURSO, MIPONUH, MTCR, NSG (observer), OAS, OPANAL, PCA, RG, UN, UNAVEM III, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNFICYP, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIKOM, UNITAR, UNMIBH, UNMOP, UNPREDEP, UNTSO, UNU, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Diego Ramiro GUELAR
      chancery: 1600 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 939-6400 through 6403
      FAX: [1] (202) 332-3171
      consulate(s) general: Atlanta, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, San Francisco, and San Juan (Puerto Rico)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador James R. CHEEK has retired; replacement to be appointed in 1998
      embassy: 4300 Colombia, 1425 Buenos Aires
      mailing address: International mail: use street address; APO address: Unit 4334, APO AA 34034
      telephone: [54] (1) 777-4533, 4534
      FAX: [54] (1) 777-0197

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of light blue (top), white, and light blue; centered in the white band is a radiant yellow sun with a human face known as the Sun of May

      NOTE: The information regarding Argentina on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Argentina Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Argentina Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)