Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Armenia Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Armenia
      conventional short form: Armenia
      local long form: Hayastani Hanrapetut'yun
      local short form: Hayastan
      former: Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic; Armenian Republic

      Data code AM

      Government type republic

      National capital Yerevan

      Administrative divisions 10 provinces (marzer, singular - marz) and 1 city* (k'aghak'ner, singular - k'aghak'); Aragatsotn, Ararat, Armavir, Geghark'unik', Kotayk', Lorri, Shirak, Syunik', Tavush, Vayots' Dzor, Yerevan*

      Independence 28 May 1918 (First Armenian Republic); 23 September 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Referendum Day, 21 September

      Constitution adopted by nationwide referendum 5 July 1995

      Legal system based on civil law system

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Robert KOCHARIAN (since 30 March 1998)
      head of government: Prime Minister Armen DARBINYAN (since 10 April 1998)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; special election last held 30 March 1998 (next election to be held March 2003); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Robert KOCHARIAN elected president; percent of vote - Robert KOCHARIAN 59%, Karen DEMIRCHYAN 41%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly (Parliament) or Azgayin Zhoghov (190 seats; members serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 5 July 1995 (next to be held NA July 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Republican Bloc 159 (ANM 63, DLP-Hanrapetutyun Bloc 6, Republic Party 4, CDU 3, Intellectual Armenia 3, Social Democratic Party 2, independents 78), SWM 8, ACP 7, NDU 5, NSDU 3, DLP 1, ARF 1, other 4, vacant 2

      Judicial branch Supreme Court; Constitutional Court

      Political parties and leaders Armenian National Movement or ANM [Vano SIRADEGIAN, chairman]; National Democratic Union or NDU [Vazgen MANUKIAN]; Intellectual Armenia [H. TOKMAJIAN]; Social Democratic (Hnchakian) Party [Yeghia NACHARIAN]; Shamiram Women's Movement or SWM [Maria NERSISSIAN]; Armenian Communist Party or ACP [Sergey BADALYAN]; Union of National Self-Determination or NSDU [Paruir HAIRIKIAN, chairman]; Armenian Revolutionary Federation ("Dashnak" Party) or ARF; Christian Democratic Union or CDU [Azat ARSHAKYN, chairman]; Democratic Liberal Party [Orthosis GYONJIAN, chairman]; Republican Party [Andranik MARKARYAN]

      International organization participation BSEC, CCC, CE (guest), CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ESCAP, FAO, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, NAM (observer), OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Rouben SHUGARIAN
      chancery: 2225 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 319-1976
      FAX: [1] (202) 319-2982
      consulate(s) general: Los Angeles

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Peter TOMSEN
      embassy: 18 General Baghramian Avenue, Yerevan
      mailing address: use embassy street address
      telephone: [374] (2) 524-661, 521-611
      FAX: [374] (2) 151-550, 151-511

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, and gold

      NOTE: The information regarding Armenia on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Armenia Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Armenia Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)