Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Azerbaijan Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Azerbaijani Republic
      conventional short form: Azerbaijan
      local long form: Azarbaycan Respublikasi
      local short form: none
      former: Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic

      Data code AJ

      Government type republic

      National capital Baku (Baki)

      Administrative divisions 59 rayons (rayonlar; rayon - singular), 11 cities* (saharlar; sahar - singular), 1 autonomous republic** (muxtar respublika); Abseron Rayonu, Agcabadi Rayonu, Agdam Rayonu, Agdas Rayonu, Agstafa Rayonu, Agsu Rayonu, Ali Bayramli Sahari*, Astara Rayonu, Baki Sahari*, Balakan Rayonu, Barda Rayonu, Beylaqan Rayonu, Bilasuvar Rayonu, Cabrayil Rayonu, Calilabad Rayonu, Daskasan Rayonu, Davaci Rayonu, Fuzuli Rayonu, Gadabay Rayonu, Ganca Sahari*, Goranboy Rayonu, Goycay Rayonu, Haciqabul Rayonu, Imisli Rayonu, Ismayilli Rayonu, Kalbacar Rayonu, Kurdamir Rayonu, Lacin Rayonu, Lankaran Rayonu, Lankaran Sahari*, Lerik Rayonu, Masalli Rayonu, Mingacevir Sahari*, Naftalan Sahari*, Naxcivan Muxtar Respublikasi**, Neftcala Rayonu, Oguz Rayonu, Qabala Rayonu, Qax Rayonu, Qazax Rayonu, Qobustan Rayonu, Quba Rayonu, Qubadli Rayonu, Qusar Rayonu, Saatli Rayonu, Sabirabad Rayonu, Saki Rayonu, Saki Sahari*, Salyan Rayonu, Samaxi Rayonu, Samkir Rayonu, Samux Rayonu, Siyazan Rayonu, Sumqayit Sahari*, Susa Rayonu, Susa Sahari*, Tartar Rayonu, Tovuz Rayonu, Ucar Rayonu, Xacmaz Rayonu, Xankandi Sahari*, Xanlar Rayonu, Xizi Rayonu, Xocali Rayonu, Xocavand Rayonu, Yardimli Rayonu, Yevlax Rayonu, Yevlax Sahari*, Zangilan Rayonu, Zaqatala Rayonu, Zardab Rayonu

      Independence 30 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)

      National holiday Independence Day, 28 May

      Constitution adopted 12 November 1995

      Legal system based on civil law system

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Heydar ALIYEV (since 18 June 1993)
      head of government: Prime Minister Artur RASIZADE (since 26 November 1996)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president and confirmed by the National Assembly
      elections: president elected by popular vote to a five-year term; election last held 3 October 1993 (next to be held October 1998); prime minister and first deputy prime ministers appointed by the president and confirmed by the National Assembly
      election results: Heydar ALIYEV elected president; percent of vote - Heydar ALIYEV 97%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Milli Mejlis (125 seats; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 12 and 26 November 1995 (next to be held NA 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - YAP and allies 115, AXC 4, AMIP 3, YMP 1, vacant 2

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders New Azerbaijan Party or YAP [Heydar ALIYEV, chairman]; Azerbaijan Popular Front or AXC [Abulfaz ELCHIBEY, chairman]; Party for National Independence of Azerbaijan or AMIP [Etibar MAMMADOV, chairman]; Musavat Party or YMP [Isa GAMBAR, chairman]; People's Democratic Party of Azerbaijan [Rafig TURABXANLY]; People's Freedom Party [Yunus OGUZ, chairman]; Democratic Party of Independence of Azerbaijan [Vagit KERIMOV]; Communist Party of Azerbaijan (CPA-2) [Firudin HASANOV]; Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan or SDP [Zardusht ALIZADE, chairman]; Liberal Party of Azerbaijan [Lala HAJIYEVA]; Vahdat Party [Leyla YUNUSOV, Gadzhi ALIZADE]; Azerbaijan Muslim Democratic Party (former Islamic Party) [Haji Mekhti SHAMILLI]; Azerbaijan Democratic Party or ADP [Ilyas ISMAYLOV]; Civic Solidarity [Sabir RUSTAMXANLI]; Ana Vatan Party [Fazail AGAMALI]

      Political pressure groups and leaders self-proclaimed Armenian Nagorno-Karabakh Republic; Talysh independence movement; Sadval, Lezgin movement

      International organization participation BSEC, CCC, CE (guest), CIS, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, ECO, ESCAP, FAO, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM (observer), OIC, OSCE, PFP, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO (observer)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Hafiz Mir Jalal PASHAYEV
      chancery: (temporary) Suite 700, 927 15th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005 or P. O. Box 28790, Washington, DC 20038-8790
      telephone: [1] (202) 842-0001
      FAX: [1] (202) 842-0004

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Stanley ESCUDERO
      embassy: Azadliq Prospekti 83, Baku
      mailing address: use embassy street address
      telephone: [9] (9412) 98-03-35
      FAX: [9] (9412) 96-04-69

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of blue (top), red, and green; a crescent and eight-pointed star in white are centered in red band

      NOTE: The information regarding Azerbaijan on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Azerbaijan Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Azerbaijan Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)