Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Bahrain Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: State of Bahrain
      conventional short form: Bahrain
      local long form: Dawlat al Bahrayn
      local short form: Al Bahrayn

      Data code BA

      Government type traditional monarchy

      National capital Manama

      Administrative divisions 12 municipalities (manatiq, singular - mintaqah); Al Hadd, Al Manamah, Al Mintaqah al Gharbiyah, Al Mintaqah al Wusta, Al Mintaqah ash Shamaliyah, Al Muharraq, Ar Rifa wa al Mintaqah al Janubiyah, Jidd Hafs, Madinat Hamad, Madinat Isa, Juzur Hawar, Sitrah
      note: all municipalities administered from Manama

      Independence 15 August 1971 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 16 December (1971)

      Constitution 26 May 1973, effective 6 December 1973

      Legal system based on Islamic law and English common law

      Suffrage none

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Amir ISA bin Salman Al Khalifa (since 2 November 1961); Heir Apparent HAMAD bin Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa (son of the Amir, born 28 January 1949)
      head of government: Prime Minister KHALIFA bin Salman Al Khalifa (since 19 January 1970)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the amir
      elections: none; the amir is a traditional Arab monarch; prime minister appointed by the amir

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly was dissolved 26 August 1975 and legislative powers were assumed by the Cabinet; appointed Advisory Council established 16 December 1992

      Judicial branch High Civil Appeals Court

      Political parties and leaders political parties prohibited

      Political pressure groups and leaders several small, clandestine leftist and Islamic fundamentalist groups are active; following the arrest of a popular Shi'a cleric, Shi'a activists have fomented unrest sporadically since late 1994, demanding the return of an elected National Assembly and an end to unemployment

      International organization participation ABEDA, AFESD, AL, AMF, ESCWA, FAO, G-77, GCC, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDB, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OAPEC, OIC, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Dr. Muhammad ABD AL-GHAFFAR Abdallah
      chancery: 3502 International Drive NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 342-0741, 342-0742
      FAX: [1] (202) 362-2192
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Johnny YOUNG
      embassy: Building No. 979, Road 3119 (next to Al-Ahli Sports Club), Zinj District, Manama
      mailing address: FPO AE 09834-5100; International Mail Box 26431, Manama (International Mail)
      telephone: [973] 273-300
      FAX: [973] 275-418

      Flag description red with a white serrated band (eight white points) on the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Bahrain on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Bahrain Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Bahrain Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)