Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Burma Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Union of Burma
      conventional short form: Burma
      local long form: Pyidaungzu Myanma Naingngandaw (translated by the US Government as Union of Myanma and by the Burmese as Union of Myanmar)
      local short form: Myanma Naingngandaw
      former: Socialist Republic of the Union of Burma

      Data code BM

      Government type military regime

      National capital Rangoon (regime refers to the capital as Yangon)

      Administrative divisions 7 divisions* (yin-mya, singular - yin) and 7 states (pyine-mya, singular - pyine); Chin State, Ayeyarwady*, Bago*, Kachin State, Kayin State, Kayah State, Magway*, Mandalay*, Mon State, Rakhine State, Sagaing*, Shan State, Tanintharyi*, Yangon*

      Independence 4 January 1948 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 4 January (1948)

      Constitution 3 January 1974 (suspended since 18 September 1988); national convention started on 9 January 1993 to draft a new constitution; chapter headings and three of 15 sections have been approved

      Legal system does not accept compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Prime Minister and Chairman of the State Peace and Development Council Gen. THAN SHWE (since 23 April 1992); note - the prime minister is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: Prime Minister and Chairman of the State Peace and Development Council Gen. THAN SHWE (since 23 April 1992); note - the prime minister is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: State Peace and Development Council (SPDC); military junta, so named 15 November 1997, which initially assumed power 18 September 1988 under the name State Law and Order Restoration Council; the SPDC oversees the cabinet
      elections: none; the prime minister assumed power upon resignation of the former prime minister

      Legislative branch unicameral People's Assembly or Pyithu Hluttaw (485 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 27 May 1990, but Assembly never convened
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - NLD 396, NUP 10, other 79

      Judicial branch limited; remnants of the British-era legal system in place, but there is no guarantee of a fair public trial; the judiciary is not independent of the executive

      Political parties and leaders Union Solidarity and Development Association (USDA, proregime), THAN AUNG, general secretary; National Unity Party (NUP, proregime), THA KYAW; National League for Democracy (NLD), AUNG SHWE, chairman, AUNG SAN SUU KYI, general secretary; and eight minor legal parties

      Political pressure groups and leaders National Coalition Government of the Union of Burma (NCGUB), headed by Dr. SEIN WIN - consists of individuals legitimately elected to the People's Assembly but not recognized by the military regime; the group fled to a border area and joined with insurgents in December 1990 to form a parallel government; Kachin Independence Army (KIA); United Wa State Army (UWSA); Karen National Union (KNU); several Shan factions; All Burma Student Democratic Front (ABSDF)

      International organization participation AsDB, ASEAN, CCC, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat (nonsignatory user), Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador TIN WINN
      chancery: 2300 S Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 332-9044, 9045
      FAX: [1] (202) 332-9046
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Kent M. WIEDEMANN
      embassy: 581 Merchant Street, Rangoon (GPO 521)
      mailing address: Box B, APO AP 96546
      telephone: [95] (1) 282055, 282181 (operator assistance required)
      FAX: [95] (1) 280409

      Flag description red with a blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side corner bearing, all in white, 14 five-pointed stars encircling a cogwheel containing a stalk of rice; the 14 stars represent the 14 administrative divisions

      NOTE: The information regarding Burma on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Burma Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Burma Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)