Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Faroe Islands Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Faroe Islands
      local long form: none
      local short form: Foroyar

      Data code FO

      Dependency status part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark since 1948

      Government type NA

      National capital Torshavn

      Administrative divisions none (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Independence none (part of the Kingdom of Denmark; self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      National holiday Birthday of the Queen, 16 April (1940)

      Constitution 5 June 1953 (Danish constitution)

      Legal system Danish

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen MARGRETHE II of Denmark (since 14 January 1972), represented by High Commissioner Bente KLINTE, chief administrative officer (since NA)
      head of government: Prime Minister Anfinn KALLSBERG (since NA May 1998)
      cabinet: Landsstyri elected by the Faroese Parliament
      elections: the queen is a constitutional monarch; high commissioner appointed by the queen; following legislative elections, the leader of the party that wins the most seats is usually elected prime minister by the Faroese Parliament; election last held NA 1994 (next to be held NA 1998)
      election results: Edmund JOENSEN elected prime minister; percent of parliamentary vote - 23.4%

      Legislative branch unicameral Faroese Parliament or Logting (32 seats; members are elected on a proportional basis from the seven constituencies to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 30 April 1998 (next to be held by NA July 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Republicans 23.8%, People's Party 21.3%, Social Democrats 21.9%, Coalition Party (Union Party, Labor Front, Home Rule Party) 15%; seats by party - Republicans 8, People's Party 8, Social Democrats 7, Coalition Party 6, other parties 3
      note: election of 2 seats to the Danish Parliament was last held on 21 September 1994 (next to be held by September 1998); results - percent of vote by party - Unionist Party 22.5%, People's Party 21.7%; seats by party - Unionist Party 1, People's Party 1

      Judicial branch none

      Political parties and leaders Social Democratic Party [Joannes EIDESGAARD]; Workers' Party [Alis JACOBSEN]; Home Rule Party [Helena Dam A NEYSTABO]; Unionist Party [Edmund JOENSEN]; Republican Party [Heini O. HEINESEN]; Center Party [Tordur NICLASEN]; Christian People's Party [Niels Pauli DANIELSEN]; People's Party [Arnfinn KALLSBERG]

      International organization participation none

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Diplomatic representation from the US none (self-governing overseas administrative division of Denmark)

      Flag description white with a red cross outlined in blue that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in the style of the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

      NOTE: The information regarding Faroe Islands on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Faroe Islands Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Faroe Islands Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)