Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Ghana Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Ghana
      conventional short form: Ghana
      former: Gold Coast

      Data code GH

      Government type constitutional democracy

      National capital Accra

      Administrative divisions 10 regions; Ashanti, Brong-Ahafo, Central, Eastern, Greater Accra, Northern, Upper East, Upper West, Volta, Western

      Independence 6 March 1957 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 6 March (1957)

      Constitution new constitution approved 28 April 1992

      Legal system based on English common law and customary law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Jerry John RAWLINGS (since 7 January 1993); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Jerry John RAWLINGS (since 7 January 1993); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Council of Ministers; president nominates members subject to approval by the Parliament
      elections: president and vice president elected by popular vote for four-year terms; election last held 7 December 1996 (next to be held NA 2000)
      election results: Jerry John RAWLINGS elected president; percent of vote - RAWLINGS 57%

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament (200 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 7 December 1996 (next to be held NA December 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NDC 133, NPP 61, PCP 5, PNC 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders National Democratic Congress or NDC [Dr. Huudu YAHAYA, general secretary]; New Patriotic Party or NPP [Peter Ala ADJETY]; People's Heritage Party or PHP [Emmanuel Alexander ERSKINE]; National Convention Party or NCP [Sarpong KUMA-KUMA]; Every Ghanian Living Everywhere or EGLE [Owuraku AMOFA, chairman]; Peoples Convention Party or PCP [P. K. DONKOH-AYIFI, acting chairman]; Peoples National Convention or PNC [Edward MAHAMA]

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, ECOWAS, FAO, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, MINURSO, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNIFIL, UNIKOM, UNMIBH, UNMOP, UNPREDEP, UNU, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Kobena KOOMSON
      chancery: 3512 International Drive NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 686-4520
      FAX: [1] (202) 686-4527
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Edward BRYNN
      embassy: Ring Road East, East of Danquah Circle, Accra
      mailing address: P. O. Box 194, Accra
      telephone: [233] (21) 775348
      FAX: [233] (21) 776008

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of red (top), yellow, and green with a large black five-pointed star centered in the yellow band; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia; similar to the flag of Bolivia, which has a coat of arms centered in the yellow band

      NOTE: The information regarding Ghana on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Ghana Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Ghana Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)