Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Greece Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Hellenic Republic
      conventional short form: Greece
      local long form: Elliniki Dhimokratia
      local short form: Ellas
      former: Kingdom of Greece

      Data code GR

      Government type parliamentary republic; monarchy rejected by referendum 8 December 1974

      National capital Athens

      Administrative divisions 51 prefectures (nomoi, singular - nomos)and 1 autonomous region*; Ayion Oros* (Mt. Athos), Aitolia kai Akarnania, Akhaia, Argolis, Arkadhia, Arta, Attiki, Dhodhekanisos, Drama, Evritania, Evros, Evvoia, Florina, Fokis, Fthiotis, Grevena, Ilia, Imathia, Ioannina, Irakleion, Kardhitsa, Kastoria, Kavala, Kefallinia, Kerkyra, Khalkidhiki, Khania, Khios, Kikladhes, Kilkis, Korinthia, Kozani, Lakonia, Larisa, Lasithi, Lesvos, Levkas, Magnisia, Messinia, Pella, Pieria, Preveza, Rethimni, Rodhopi, Samos, Serrai, Thesprotia, Thessaloniki, Trikala, Voiotia, Xanthi, Zakinthos

      Independence 1829 (from the Ottoman Empire)

      National holiday Independence Day, 25 March (1821) (proclamation of the war of independence)

      Constitution 11 June 1975

      Legal system based on codified Roman law; judiciary divided into civil, criminal, and administrative courts

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal and compulsory

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Konstandinos (Kostis) STEPHANOPOULOS (since 10 March 1995)
      head of government: Prime Minister Konstandinos SIMITIS (since 19 January 1996)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: president elected by Chamber of Deputies for a five-year term; election last held 10 March 1995 (next to be held by NA March 2000); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Konstandinos STEPHANOPOULOS elected president; percent of Chamber of Deputies vote - NA

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament or Vouli ton Ellinon (300 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: elections last held 22 September 1996 (next to be held by NA September 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - PASOK 41.5%, ND 38.1%, KKE 5.6%, Coalition of the Left and Progress 5.1%, DIKKI 4.4%, Political Spring 2.9%; seats by party - PASOK 162, ND 108, KKE 11, Coalition of the Left and Progress 10, DIKKI 9; note - seating has subsequently changed as a result of disciplinary actions by PASOK, ND, and DIKKI; as of 3 February 1998 seating is PASOK 159, ND 102, KKE 11, Coalition of the Left and Progress 10, DIKKI 8, independents 10

      Judicial branch Supreme Judicial Court, judges appointed for life by the president after consultation with a judicial council; Special Supreme Tribunal, judges appointed for life by the president after consultation with a judicial council

      Political parties and leaders New Democracy or ND (conservative) [Konstandinos KARAMANLIS]; Panhellenic Socialist Movement or PASOK [Konstandinos SIMITIS]; Communist Party or KKE [Aleka PAPARIGA]; Political Spring [Andonios SAMARAS]; Coalition of the Left and Progress (Synaspismos) [Nikolaos KONSTANDOPOULOS]; Democratic Social Movement or DIKKI [Dhimitrios TSOVOLAS]; Rainbow Coalition [Pavlos VOSKOPOULOS]

      International organization participation Australia Group, BIS, BSEC, CCC, CE, CERN, EAPC, EBRD, ECE, EIB, EU, FAO, G- 6, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IEA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, MINURSO, MTCR, NAM (guest), NATO, NEA, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OSCE, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIKOM, UNMIBH, UNOMIG, UPU, WEU, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO, ZC

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Loukas TSILAS
      chancery: 2221 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 939-5800
      FAX: [1] (202) 939-5824
      consulate(s) general: Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco
      consulate(s): Atlanta, Houston, and New Orleans

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador R. Nicholas BURNS
      embassy: 91 Vasilissis Sophias Boulevard, 10160 Athens
      mailing address: PSC 108, APO AE 09842-0108
      telephone: [30] (1) 721-2951
      FAX: [30] (1) 645-6282
      consulate(s) general: Thessaloniki

      Flag description nine equal horizontal stripes of blue alternating with white; there is a blue square in the upper hoist-side corner bearing a white cross; the cross symbolizes Greek Orthodoxy, the established religion of the country

      NOTE: The information regarding Greece on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Greece Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Greece Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)