Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Guatemala Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Guatemala
      conventional short form: Guatemala
      local long form: Republica de Guatemala
      local short form: Guatemala

      Data code GT

      Government type republic

      National capital Guatemala

      Administrative divisions 22 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Alta Verapaz, Baja Verapaz, Chimaltenango, Chiquimula, El Progreso, Escuintla, Guatemala, Huehuetenango, Izabal, Jalapa, Jutiapa, Peten, Quetzaltenango, Quiche, Retalhuleu, Sacatepequez, San Marcos, Santa Rosa, Solola, Suchitepequez, Totonicapan, Zacapa

      Independence 15 September 1821 (from Spain)

      National holiday Independence Day, 15 September (1821)

      Constitution 31 May 1985, effective 14 January 1986
      note: suspended 25 May 1993 by President SERRANO; reinstated 5 June 1993 following ouster of president

      Legal system civil law system; judicial review of legislative acts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Alvaro Enrique ARZU Irigoyen (since 14 January 1996); Vice President Luis Alberto FLORES Asturias (since 14 January 1996); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Alvaro Enrique ARZU Irigoyen (since 14 January 1996); Vice President Luis Alberto FLORES Asturias (since 14 January 1996); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Council of Ministers named by the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a four-year term; election last held 12 November 1995; runoff held 7 January 1996 (next to be held NA November 1999)
      election results: Alvaro Enrique ARZU Irigoyen elected president; percent of vote - Alvaro Enrique ARZU Irigoyen (PAN) 51.2%, Jorge PORTILLO Cabrera (FRG) 48.8%

      Legislative branch unicameral Congress of the Republic or Congreso de la Republica (80 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held on 12 November 1995 to select 80 new congressmen (next to be held in November 1999)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PAN 43, FRG 21, FDNG 6, DCG 4, UCN 3, UD 2, MLN 1
      note: on 11 November 1993 the congress approved a procedure that reduced its number from 116 seats to 80; the procedure provided for a special election in mid-1994 to elect an interim congress of 80 members to serve until replaced in the November 1995 general election; the plan was approved in a general referendum in January 1994 and the special election was held on 14 August 1994

      Judicial branch Supreme Court of Justice (Corte Suprema de Justicia); additionally the Court of Constitutionality is presided over by the President of the Supreme Court, judges are elected for a five-year term by Congress

      Political parties and leaders National Centrist Union or UCN [Juan AYERDI Aguilar]; Christian Democratic Party or DCG [Alfonso CABRERA Hidalgo]; National Advancement Party or PAN [Raphael BARRIOS Flores]; National Liberation Movement or MLN [Mario SANDOVAL Alarcon]; Social Democratic Party or PSD [Sergio FLORES Cruz]; Revolutionary Party or PR [Carlos CHAVARRIA Perez]; Guatemalan Republican Front or FRG [Efrain RIOS Montt]; Democratic Union or UD [Jose CHEA Urruela]; New Guatemalan Democratic Front or FDNG [Rafael ARRIAGA Martinez]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Coordinating Committee of Agricultural, Commercial, Industrial, and Financial Associations or CACIF; Mutual Support Group or GAM; Agrarian Owners Group or UNAGRO; Committee for Campesino Unity or CUC; Alliance Against Impunity or AAI
      note: former guerrillas known as Guatemalan National Revolutionary Union or URNG signed peace treaty with government on 29 December 1996; URNG guerrillas formally disbanded 29-30 March 1997 and are in the process of forming a political party of the same name

      International organization participation BCIE, CACM, CCC, ECLAC, FAO, G-24, G-77, IADB, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ITU, LAES, LAIA (observer), NAM, OAS, OPANAL, PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNU, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Pedro Miguel LAMPORT Kelsall
      chancery: 2220 R Street NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 745-4952 through 4954
      FAX: [1] (202) 745-1908
      consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, and San Francisco

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Donald J. PLANTY (18 July 1996)
      embassy: 7-01 Avenida de la Reforma, Zone 10, Guatemala City
      mailing address: APO AA 34024
      telephone: [502] (2) 31-15-41
      FAX: [502] (2) 31-88-85

      Flag description three equal vertical bands of light blue (hoist side), white, and light blue with the coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms includes a green and red quetzal (the national bird) and a scroll bearing the inscription LIBERTAD 15 DE SEPTIEMBRE DE 1821 (the original date of independence from Spain) all superimposed on a pair of crossed rifles and a pair of crossed swords and framed by a wreath

      NOTE: The information regarding Guatemala on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guatemala Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Guatemala Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)