Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Indonesia Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Indonesia
      conventional short form: Indonesia
      local long form: Republik Indonesia
      local short form: Indonesia
      former: Netherlands East Indies; Dutch East Indies

      Data code ID

      Government type republic

      National capital Jakarta

      Administrative divisions 24 provinces (propinsi-propinsi, singular - propinsi), 2 special regions* (daerah-daerah istimewa, singular - daerah istimewa), and 1 special capital city district** (daerah khusus ibukota); Aceh*, Bali, Bengkulu, Irian Jaya, Jakarta Raya**, Jambi, Jawa Barat, Jawa Tengah, Jawa Timur, Kalimantan Barat, Kalimantan Selatan, Kalimantan Tengah, Kalimantan Timur, Lampung, Maluku, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Nusa Tenggara Timur, Riau, Sulawesi Selatan, Sulawesi Tengah, Sulawesi Tenggara, Sulawesi Utara, Sumatera Barat, Sumatera Selatan, Sumatera Utara, Timor Timur, Yogyakarta*

      Independence 17 August 1945 (proclaimed independence; on 27 December 1949, Indonesia became legally independent from the Netherlands)

      National holiday Independence Day, 17 August (1945)

      Constitution August 1945, abrogated by Federal Constitution of 1949 and Provisional Constitution of 1950, restored 5 July 1959

      Legal system based on Roman-Dutch law, substantially modified by indigenous concepts and by new criminal procedures code; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 17 years of age; universal and married persons regardless of age

      Executive branch
      note: on 21 May 1998 - less than three months after being reelected to a seventh five-year term - President Gen. (Ret.) SOEHARTO resigned from office; immediately following his resignation he announced that Vice President HABIBIE would assume the presidency for the remainder of the term which expires in 2003; on 28 May 1998, HABIBIE and legislative leaders announced an agreement to hold a new presidential election in 1999
      chief of state: President Bacharuddin J. HABIBIE (since 21 March 1998); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Bacharuddin J. HABIBIE (since 21 March 1998); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet
      elections: president and vice president elected by consensus by the People's Consultative Assembly for five-year terms; election last held 10 March 1998 (next to be held NA 1999)
      election results: Gen. (Ret.) SOEHARTO elected president by consensus by the People's Consultative Assembly; Bacharuddin J. HABIBIE elected vice president by consensus by the People's Consultative Assembly; note - Vice President HABIBIE assumed the presidency after SOEHARTO's resignation

      Legislative branch unicameral House of Representatives or Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (DPR) (500 seats; 425 elected by popular vote, 75 are appointed military representatives; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 29 May 1997 (next to be held NA 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - Golkar 74.5%, PPP 22.43%, PDI 3.07%; seats by party - Golkar 325, PPP 89, PDI 11
      note: the People's Consultative Assembly (Majelis Permusyawaratan Rakyat or MPR) includes the DPR plus 500 indirectly selected members; it meets every five years to elect the president and vice president and to approve the broad outlines of national policy

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (Mahkamah Agung), the judges are appointed by the president

      Political parties and leaders Golkar (de facto ruling political party based on functional groups), HARMOKO, general chairman; Indonesia Democracy Party (PDI, federation of former Nationalist and Christian Parties), SOERJADI, chairman; Development Unity Party (PPP, federation of former Islamic parties), Ismail Hasan METAREUM, chairman

      International organization participation APEC, AsDB, ASEAN, CCC, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-15, G-19, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO, ITU, NAM, OIC, OPEC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNIKOM, UNMIBH, UNMOP, UNOMIG, UNPREDEP, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador DORODJATUN Kuntoro-Jakti
      chancery: 2020 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20036
      telephone: [1] (202) 775-5200
      FAX: [1] (202) 775-5365
      consulate(s) general: Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador J. Stapleton ROY
      embassy: Medan Merdeka Selatan 5, Jakarta
      mailing address: Box 1, APO AP 96520
      telephone: [62] (21) 344-2211
      FAX: [62] (21) 386-2259
      consulate(s) general: Surabaya

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and white; similar to the flag of Monaco, which is shorter; also similar to the flag of Poland, which is white (top) and red

      NOTE: The information regarding Indonesia on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Indonesia Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Indonesia Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)