Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Korea, South Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Korea
      conventional short form: South Korea
      local long form: Taehan-min'guk
      local short form: none
      note: the South Koreans generally use the term "Hanguk" to refer to their country
      abbreviation: ROK

      Data code KS

      Government type republic

      National capital Seoul

      Administrative divisions 9 provinces (do, singular and plural) and 6 special cities* (gwangyoksi, singular and plural); Cheju-do, Cholla-bukto, Cholla-namdo, Ch'ungch'ong-bukto, Ch'ungch'ong-namdo, Inch'on-gwangyoksi*, Kangwon-do, Kwangju-gwangyoksi*, Kyonggi-do, Kyongsang-bukto, Kyongsang-namdo, Pusan-gwangyoksi*, Soul-t'ukpyolsi*, Taegu-gwangyoksi*, Taejon-gwangyoksi*

      Independence 15 August 1945; note - date of liberation from Japanese colonial rule

      National holiday Liberation Day, 15 August (1945)

      Constitution 25 February 1988

      Legal system combines elements of continental European civil law systems, Anglo-American law, and Chinese classical thought

      Suffrage 20 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Kim Dae-jung (since 25 February 1998)
      head of government: Acting Prime Minister KIM Chong-p'il (since 3 March 1998)
      cabinet: State Council appointed by the president on the prime minister's recommendation
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a single five-year term; election last held 18 December 1997 (next to be held 18 December 2002); prime minister appointed by the president; deputy prime ministers appointed by the president on the prime minister's recommendation
      election results: Kim Dae-jung elected president; percent of vote - Kim Dae-jung (NCNP) 40.3%, YI Hoe-chang (GNP) 38.7%, YI In-che (NPP) 19.2%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly or Kukhoe (299 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 11 April 1996 (next to be held NA 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NKP 139, NCNP 79, ULD 50, DP 15, independents 16; note - the distribution of seats as of February 1998 was GNP 165, NCNP 78, ULD 43, NPP 8, independents 4, vacant 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, justices are appointed by the president subject to the consent of the National Assembly

      Political parties and leaders Grand National Party (GNP), CHO Sun, president; National Congress for New Politics (NCNP), Kim Dae-jung, president; United Liberal Democrats (ULD), PAK Tae-chun, president; New People's Party (NPP), YI In-che, president
      note: subsequent to the legislative election of April 1996 the following parties disbanded - New Korea Party (NKP) and Democratic Party (DP)

      Political pressure groups and leaders Korean National Council of Churches; National Democratic Alliance of Korea; National Federation of Student Associations; National Federation of Farmers' Associations; National Council of Labor Unions; Federation of Korean Trade Unions; Korean Veterans' Association; Federation of Korean Industries; Korean Traders Association; Korean Confederation of Trade Unions

      International organization participation AfDB, APEC, AsDB, BIS (pending member), CCC, CP, EBRD, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO, ITU, MINURSO, NSG, OAS (observer), OECD, OSCE (partner), UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNMOGIP, UNOMIG, UNU, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador YI Hong-ku
      chancery: 2450 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 939-5600
      consulate(s) general: Agana (Guam), Anchorage, Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Honolulu, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, San Francisco, and Seattle

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Stephen W. BOSWORTH
      embassy: 82 Sejong-Ro, Chongro-ku, Seoul
      mailing address: American Embassy, Unit 15550, APO AP 96205-0001
      telephone: [82] (2) 397-4114
      FAX: [82] (2) 738-8845
      consulate(s): Pusan

      Flag description white with a red (top) and blue yin-yang symbol in the center; there is a different black trigram from the ancient I Ching (Book of Changes) in each corner of the white field

      NOTE: The information regarding Korea, South on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Korea, South Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Korea, South Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)