Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Madagascar Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Madagascar
      conventional short form: Madagascar
      local long form: Republique de Madagascar
      local short form: Madagascar
      former: Malagasy Republic

      Data code MA

      Government type republic

      National capital Antananarivo

      Administrative divisions 6 provinces (faritany); Antananarivo, Antsiranana, Fianarantsoa, Mahajanga, Toamasina, Toliary

      Independence 26 June 1960 (from France)

      National holiday Independence Day, 26 June (1960)

      Constitution 19 August 1992 by national referendum

      Legal system based on French civil law system and traditional Malagasy law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Didier RATSIRAKA (since 10 February 1997)
      head of government: Prime Minister Pascal RAKOTOMAVO (since 21 February 1997)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the prime minister
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 29 December 1996 (next to be held NA 2002); prime minister appointed by the president from a list of candidates nominated by the National Assembly
      election results: percent of the popular vote for president - Didier RATSIRAKA (AREMA) 50.7%, Albert ZAFY (UNDD) 49.3%; percent of the National Assembly vote for prime minister - NA

      Legislative branch bicameral Parliament consists of the National Assembly or Assemblee Nationale (138 seats; members are directly elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms) and the Senate or Senat (two-thirds of Senate seats are to be filled from popularly elected regional assemblies; the remaining third is to be filled by presidential appointment; members serve four-year terms); note - the establishment of the Senate has been indefinitely postponed; the total number of seats in the Senate will be determined by the National Assembly
      elections: National Assembly - last held 16 June 1993 (next to be held May 1998)
      election results: National Assembly - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - CFV coalition 76, PMDM/MFM 16, CSCD 11, Famima 10, RPSD 7, various pro-Ratsiraka groups 10, others 8

      Judicial branch Supreme Court (Cour Supreme); High Constitutional Court (Haute Cour Constitutionnelle)

      Political parties and leaders Committee of Living Forces or CFV, an alliance of National Union for Development and Democracy or UNDD [Emmanuel RAKOTOVAHINY, president], Support Committee for Democracy and Development in Madagascar or CSDDM [Francisque RAVONY, president], Action and Reflection Group for the Development of Madagascar or GRAD, Congress Party for Madagascar Independence-Renewal or AKFM-Fanavaozana [Richard ANDRIAMANJATO, president], and some 12 other parties, trade unions, and religious groups; Association of United Malagasys or Famima [Didier RATSIRAKA, leader]; Confederation of Civil Societies for Development or CSCD [Guy Willy RAZANAMASY]; Militant Party for the Development of Madagascar or PMDM/MFM, formerly the Movement for Proletarian Power [Manandafy RAKOTONIRINA]; Rally for Social Democracy or RPSD [Evariste MARSON, president]

      Political pressure groups and leaders National Council of Christian Churches or FFKM; Federalist Movement

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, InOC, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Biclair Henri ANDRIANANTOANDRO
      chancery: 2374 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 265-5525, 5526
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Howard T. PERLOW
      embassy: 14-16 Rue Rainitovo, Antsahavola, Antananarivo
      mailing address: B. P. 620, Antananarivo
      telephone: [261] (2) 212-57, 200-89, 207-18
      FAX: [261] (2) 345-39

      Flag description two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and green with a vertical white band of the same width on hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Madagascar on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Madagascar Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Madagascar Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)