Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Mauritius Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Mauritius
      conventional short form: Mauritius

      Data code MP

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      National capital Port Louis

      Administrative divisions 9 districts and 3 dependencies*; Agalega Islands*, Black River, Cargados Carajos*, Flacq, Grand Port, Moka, Pamplemousses, Plaines Wilhems, Port Louis, Riviere du Rempart, Rodrigues*, Savanne

      Independence 12 March 1968 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 12 March (1968)

      Constitution 12 March 1968; amended 12 March 1992

      Legal system based on French civil law system with elements of English common law in certain areas

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Cassam UTEEM (since 1 July 1992) and Vice President Rabindranath GHURBURRUN (since 1 July 1992)
      head of government: Prime Minister Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM (since 27 December 1995)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: president and vice president elected by the National Assembly for five-year terms; election last held 28 June 1997 (next to be held NA 2002); prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the president and are responsible to the National Assembly
      election results: Cassam UTEEM elected president and Rabindranath GHURBURRUN elected vice president; percent of vote by the National Assembly - NA

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly (66 seats - 62 popularly elected, 4 appointed; members serve five-year terms); note - the election commission appoints four members from the losing political parties to give representation to various ethnic minorities
      elections: last held on 20 December 1995 (next to be held by December 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - MLP/MMM 65%, MSM/MMR 20%, other 15%; seats by party - MLP 35, MMM 25, allies of MLP and MMM on Rodrigues Island 2; appointed were Rodrigues Movement 2, PMSD 1, Hizbullah 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders
      government party: Mauritian Labor Party or MLP [Navinchandra RAMGOOLAM]
      opposition parties: Hizbullah [Imam Mustapha BEEHARRY]; MSM/MMR alliance consisting of the Militant Socialist Movement or MSM [Sir Anerood JUGNAUTH] and the Mauritian Militant Renaissance or MMR [Dr. Paramhansa NABABSING]; Mauritian Social Democrat Party or PMSD [Xavier-Luc DUVAL]; Mauritian Militant Movement or MMM [Paul BERENGER]; Organization of the People of Rodrigues or OPR [Louis Serge CLAIR]; Rodrigues Movement [Nicholas Von MALLY, leader]

      Political pressure groups and leaders various labor unions

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, InOC, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NAM, OAU, PCA, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Chitmansing JESSERAMSING
      chancery: Suite 441, 4301 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      telephone: [1] (202) 244-1491, 1492
      FAX: [1] (202) 966-0983

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Harold Walter GEISEL (8 July 1996)
      embassy: 4th Floor, Rogers House, John Kennedy Street, Port Louis
      mailing address: International Mail: P.O. Box 544, Port Louis; US Mail: American Embassy, Port Louis, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-2450
      telephone: [230] 208-2347, 208-2354, 208-9763 through 9767
      FAX: [230] 208-9534

      Flag description four equal horizontal bands of red (top), blue, yellow, and green

      NOTE: The information regarding Mauritius on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Mauritius Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Mauritius Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)