Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Namibia Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Namibia
      conventional short form: Namibia

      Data code WA

      Government type republic

      National capital Windhoek

      Administrative divisions 13 regions; Caprivi, Erongo, Hardap, Karas, Khomas, Kunene, Ohangwena, Okavango, Omaheke, Omusati, Oshana, Oshikoto, Otjozondjupa

      Independence 21 March 1990 (from South African mandate)

      National holiday Independence Day, 21 March (1990)

      Constitution ratified 9 February 1990; effective 12 March 1990

      Legal system based on Roman-Dutch law and 1990 constitution

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Sam NUJOMA (since 21 March 1990); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      head of government: President Sam NUJOMA (since 21 March 1990); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of the National Assembly
      elections: president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 7-8 December 1994 (next to be held NA December 1999)
      election results: Sam NUJOMA elected president; percent of vote - 76%

      Legislative branch bicameral legislature consists of the National Council (26 seats; two members are chosen from each regional council to serve six-year terms) and the National Assembly (72 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: National Council - last held 30 November-3 December 1992 (next to be held by December 1998); National Assembly - last held 7-8 December 1994 (next to be held NA December 1999)
      election results: National Council - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - SWAPO 19, DTA 6, UDF 1; National Assembly - percent of vote by party - SWAPO 73.89%, DTA 20.78%, UDF 2.72%, DCN 0.83%, MAG 0.82%; seats by party - SWAPO 53, DTA 15, UDF 2, MAG 1, DCN 1
      note: the National Council is a purely advisory body

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, judges appointed by the president

      Political parties and leaders South West Africa People's Organization or SWAPO [Sam NUJOMA]; National Democratic Party for Justice or NDPFJ [Nbhwete NDJOBA]; Democratic Turnhalle Alliance of Namibia or DTA [Mishake MUYONGO, president]; United Democratic Front or UDF [Justus GAROEB]; Monitor Action Group or MAG [Kosie PRETORIUS]; Democratic Coalition of Namibia or DCN [Moses K. KATJIUONGUA]

      Political pressure groups and leaders NA

      International organization participation ACP, AfDB, C, CCC, ECA, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM (observer), ISO (subscriber), ITU, NAM, OAU, SACU, SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Veiccoh NGHIWETE
      chancery: 1605 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 986-0540
      FAX: [1] (202) 986-0443

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador George F. WARD, Jr. (24 July 1996)
      embassy: Ausplan Building, 14 Lossen St., Windhoek
      mailing address: Private Bag 12029 Ausspannplatz, Windhoek
      telephone: [264] (61) 221601
      FAX: [264] (61) 229792

      Flag description a large blue triangle with a yellow sunburst fills the upper left section and an equal green triangle (solid) fills the lower right section; the triangles are separated by a red stripe that is contrasted by two narrow white-edge borders

      NOTE: The information regarding Namibia on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Namibia Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Namibia Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)