Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Netherlands Antilles Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Netherlands Antilles
      local long form: none
      local short form: Nederlandse Antillen

      Data code NT

      Dependency status part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands; full autonomy in internal affairs granted in 1954

      Government type parliamentary

      National capital Willemstad

      Administrative divisions none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)
      note: each island has its own government

      Independence none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

      National holiday Queen's Day, 30 April (1938)

      Constitution 29 December 1954, Statute of the Realm of the Netherlands, as amended

      Legal system based on Dutch civil law system, with some English common law influence

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard of the Netherlands (since 30 April 1980), represented by Governor General Jaime SALEH (since NA October 1989)
      head of government: Prime Minister Miguel POURIER (since 25 February 1994)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers elected by the Staten
      elections: the queen is a constitutional monarch; governor general appointed by the queen for a six-year term; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party is usually elected prime minister by the Staten; election last held 30 January 1998 (next to be held by NA 2002)
      election results: Miguel POURIER elected prime minister; percent of legislative vote - NA

      Legislative branch unicameral States or Staten (22 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 30 January 1998 (next to be held by NA 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PAR 4, PNP 3, SPA 1, PDB 2, UPB 1, MAN 2, PKLP 3, WIPM 1, SEA 1, DP-St.M 2, FOL 2; no party won enough seats to form a government
      note: the government of Prime Minister Miguel POURIER is a coalition of several parties

      Judicial branch Joint High Court of Justice, are appointed by the Netherlands monarch

      Political parties and leaders
      Bonaire: Democratic Party of Bonaire (PDB), Jopi ABRAHAM; Patriotic Union of Bonaire (UPB), Rudy ELLIS
      Curacao: Antillean Restructuring Party (PAR), Miguel POURIER; National People's Party (PNP), Suzy ROMER; New Antilles Movement (MAN), Domenico Felip Don MARTINA; Workers' Liberation Front (FOL), Wilson GODETT, Jr.; Socialist Independent (SI), George HUECK; Democratic Party of Curacao (DP), Frank MAYNARD; Nos Patria, Chin BEHILIA; Social Action Cause (KAS), Benny DEMEI; Labor Party People's Crusade (PLKP), Errol COVA; Foundation Energetic Management Anti-Narcotics (FAME), Eric LODEWIJKS; Pro Curacao Party (PPK), Winston LOURENS; C 93, Stanley BROWN; People's Party (PAPU), Richard HODI
      Saba: Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM Saba), Ray HASSELL; Saba Democratic Labor Movement, Steve HASSELL; Saba Unity Party, Carmen SIMMONDS
      Sint Eustatius: Democratic Party of Sint Eustatius (DP-St. E), Julian WOODLEY; Windward Islands People's Movement (WIPM); St. Eustatius Alliance (SEA), Ingrid WHITFIELD
      Sint Maarten: Democratic Party of Sint Maarten (DP-St. M), Sarah WESTCOTT-WILLIAMS; Patriotic Movement of Sint Maarten (SPA), William MARLIN; Serious Alternative People's Party (SAPP) Julian ROLLOCKS
      note: political parties are indigenous to each island

      International organization participation Caricom (observer), ECLAC (associate), Interpol, IOC, UNESCO (associate), UPU, WMO, WToO (associate)

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (represented by the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Consul General James L. WILLIAMS
      consulate(s) general: J.B. Gorsiraweg #1, Curacao
      mailing address: P. O. Box 158, Willemstad, Curacao
      telephone: [599] (9) 4613066
      FAX: [599] (9) 4616489

      Flag description white with a horizontal blue stripe in the center superimposed on a vertical red band also centered; five white five-pointed stars are arranged in an oval pattern in the center of the blue band; the five stars represent the five main islands of Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, Sint Eustatius, and Sint Maarten

      NOTE: The information regarding Netherlands Antilles on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Netherlands Antilles Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Netherlands Antilles Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)