Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Papua New Guinea Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Independent State of Papua New Guinea
      conventional short form: Papua New Guinea
      abbreviation: PNG

      Data code PP

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      National capital Port Moresby

      Administrative divisions 20 provinces; Bougainville, Central, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, East New Britain, East Sepik, Enga, Gulf, Madang, Manus, Milne Bay, Morobe, National Capital, New Ireland, Northern, Sandaun, Southern Highlands, Western, Western Highlands, West New Britain

      Independence 16 September 1975 (from the Australian-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday Independence Day, 16 September (1975)

      Constitution 16 September 1975

      Legal system based on English common law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II of the UK (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Silas ATOPARE (since 13 November 1997)
      head of government: Prime Minister Bill SKATE (since 22 July 1997); Deputy Prime Minister Michael NALI (since 16 December 1997); note - NALI replaces Deputy Prime Minister Chris HAIVETA (since 7 September 1994) who Prime Minister SKATE fired on 12 December 1997 for his alleged role in trying to discredit SKATE
      cabinet: National Executive Council appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister
      elections: none; the queen is a hereditary monarch; governor general appointed by the National Executive Council; prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general for up to five years on the basis of majority support in National Parliament

      Legislative branch unicameral National Parliament - sometimes referred to as the House of Assembly (109 seats - 89 elected from open electorates and 20 from provincial electorates; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 14-28 June 1997 (next to be held NA June 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - PPP 15%, Pangu Pati 14%, NA 14%, PDM 8%, PNC 6%, PAP 5%, UP 3%, NP 1%, PUP 1%, independents 33%; seats by party - PPP 16, Pangu Pati 15, NA 15, PDM 9, PNC 7, PAP 5, UP 3, NP 1, PUP 1, independents 37; note - association with political parties is very fluid

      Judicial branch Supreme Court, the chief justice is appointed by the governor general on the proposal of the National Executive Council after consultation with the minister responsible for justice, other judges are appointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission

      Political parties and leaders Bougainville Unity Alliance (BUA), Samuel AKOITAI; People's Progress Party (PPP), Michael NALI; Papua New Guinea United Party (Pangu Pati), Chris HAIVETA; National Alliance (NA), Michael SOMARE; People's Democratic Movement (PDM), Iario LASARO; People's Action Party (PAP), Ted DIRO; United Party (UP), Rimbiuk PATO; National Party (NP), Paul PORA; People's Unity Party (PUP), Alfred KAIABE; Melanesian Alliance (MA), Fr. John MOMIS; Movement for Greater Autonomy, Stephen POKAWIN; Christian Democratic Party, Dilu GOMA; Papua New Guinea First Party (includes People's National Congress or PNC, Bill SKATE, and Christian Country Party, Avusi TANO) leader NA; People's Resources Awareness Party, leader NA; Liberal Party, Rabbie SAMAI; People's Solidarity Party, Kala SWOKIM; Melanesian Labour Party, Paul MONDIA; Black Action Party, Paul WANJIK; League for National Advancement (LNA), leader NA; United Resource Party, Masket IANGALIO; Hausman Party, Waim TOKAM; Milne Bay Party, Simon MUMURIK

      International organization participation ACP, APEC, AsDB, ASEAN (observer), C, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WFTU, WHO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Nagora Y. BOGAN
      chancery: 3rd floor, 1615 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20009
      telephone: [1] (202) 745-3680
      FAX: [1] (202) 745-3679

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Arma Jane KARAER
      embassy: Douglas Street, Port Moresby
      mailing address: P. O. Box 1492, Port Moresby
      telephone: [675] 321-1455
      FAX: [675] 321-3423

      Flag description divided diagonally from upper hoist-side corner; the upper triangle is red with a soaring yellow bird of paradise centered; the lower triangle is black with five white five-pointed stars of the Southern Cross constellation centered

      NOTE: The information regarding Papua New Guinea on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Papua New Guinea Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Papua New Guinea Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)