Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    The Bahamas Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Commonwealth of The Bahamas
      conventional short form: The Bahamas

      Data code BF

      Government type commonwealth

      National capital Nassau

      Administrative divisions 21 districts; Acklins and Crooked Islands, Bimini, Cat Island, Exuma, Freeport, Fresh Creek, Governor's Harbour, Green Turtle Cay, Harbour Island, High Rock, Inagua, Kemps Bay, Long Island, Marsh Harbour, Mayaguana, New Providence, Nicholls Town and Berry Islands, Ragged Island, Rock Sound, Sandy Point, San Salvador and Rum Cay

      Independence 10 July 1973 (from UK)

      National holiday National Day, 10 July (1973)

      Constitution 10 July 1973

      Legal system based on English common law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II of the UK (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Sir Orville TURNQUEST (since 2 January 1995)
      head of government: Prime Minister Hubert Alexander INGRAHAM (since 19 August 1992) and Deputy Prime Minister Frank WATSON (since December 1994)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the prime minister's recommendation
      elections: none; the queen is a hereditary monarch; governor general appointed by the queen; prime minister and deputy prime minister appointed by the governor general

      Legislative branch bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (16-member body appointed by the governor general upon the advice of the prime minister and the opposition leader for a five-year term) and the House of Assembly (40 seats; members elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 14 March 1997 (next to be held by March 2002)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - FNM 35, PLP 5

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders Progressive Liberal Party or PLP [Perry CHRISTIE]; Free National Movement or FNM [Hubert Alexander INGRAHAM]

      International organization participation ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAS, OPANAL, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Arlington Griffith BUTLER
      chancery: 2220 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008
      mailing address: American Embassy, NAS/STATE 10-1006, P.O. Box 599009, Miami, FL 33159-9009
      telephone: [1] (242) 322-1181, 328-2206
      FAX: [1] (242) 356-0222
      consulate(s) general: Miami and New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Sidney WILLIAMS
      embassy: Queen Street, Nassau
      mailing address: Local or Express Mail address: P. O. Box N-8197, Nassau; American Embassy, Nassau; Stateside address: American Embassy, P.O. Box 9009, Miami, FL 33159; Pouch address: Nassau, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-3370 (pouch)
      telephone: [1] (809) 322-1181, 328-2206
      FAX: [1] (809) 356-0222

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of aquamarine (top), gold, and aquamarine with a black equilateral triangle based on the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding The Bahamas on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of The Bahamas Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about The Bahamas Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -

    Enter your e-mail address to receive e-mail when this page is updated.
    Your Internet e-mail address:

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2001 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)