Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 2002 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Guyana Government - 2002

      Country name
      conventional long form: Co-operative Republic of Guyana
      conventional short form: Guyana
      former: British Guiana

      Government type republic within the Commonwealth

      Capital Georgetown

      Administrative divisions 10 regions; Barima-Waini, Cuyuni-Mazaruni, Demerara-Mahaica, East Berbice-Corentyne, Essequibo Islands-West Demerara, Mahaica-Berbice, Pomeroon-Supenaam, Potaro-Siparuni, Upper Demerara-Berbice, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo

      Independence 26 May 1966 (from UK)

      National holiday Republic Day, 23 February (1970)

      Constitution 6 October 1980

      Legal system based on English common law with certain admixtures of Roman-Dutch law; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Bharrat JAGDEO (since 11 August 1999); note - assumed presidency after resignation of President JAGAN
      head of government: Prime Minister Samuel HINDS (since NA December 1997)
      cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president, responsible to the legislature
      elections: president elected by the majority party in the National Assembly following legislative elections, which must be held at least every five years; elections last held 19 March 2001 (next to be held by March 2006); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: President Bharrat JAGDEO reelected; percent of legislative vote - NA%

      Legislative branch unicameral National Assembly (68 seats, 65 elected by popular vote, 1 elected Speaker of the National Assembly, and 2 nonvoting members appointed by the president; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 19 March 2001 (next to be held NA March 2006)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - PPP/C 34, PNC 27, GAP and WPA 2, ROAR 1, TUF 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Court of Judicature; Judicial Court of Appeal; High Court

      Political parties and leaders Alliance for Guyana or AFG (includes Guyana Labor Party or GLP and Working People's Alliance or WPA) [Rupert ROOPNARAINE]; Guyana Action Party or GAP [Paul HARDY]; Guyana Labor Party or GLP [leader NA]; People's National Congress or PNC [Hugh Desmond HOYTE]; People's Progressive Party/Civic or PPP/C [Bharrat JAGDEO]; Rise, Organize, and Rebuild or ROAR [Ravi DEV]; The United Force or TUF [Manzoor NADIR]; Working People's Alliance or WPA [Rupert ROOPNARAINE]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Civil Liberties Action Committee or CLAC; Guyana Council of Indian Organizations or GCIO; Trades Union Congress or TUC
      note: the GCIO and the CLAC are small and active but not well organized

      International organization participation ACP, C, Caricom, CCC, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IADB, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ISO (subscriber), ITU, LAES, NAM, OAS, OIC, OPANAL, OPCW, PCA, RG, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Dr. Ali Odeen ISHMAEL
      chancery: 2490 Tracy Place NW, Washington, DC 20008
      consulate(s) general: New York
      FAX: [1] (202) 232-1297
      telephone: [1] (202) 265-6900

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Ronald D. GODARD
      embassy: 100 Young and Duke Streets, Kingston, Georgetown
      mailing address: P. O. Box 10507, Georgetown
      telephone: [592] 225-4900 through 4909 and [592] 225-7961 through 7963
      FAX: [592] 225-7316

      Flag description green, with a red isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) superimposed on a long, yellow arrowhead; there is a narrow, black border between the red and yellow, and a narrow, white border between the yellow and the green

      NOTE: The information regarding Guyana on this page is re-published from the 2002 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Guyana Government 2002 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Guyana Government 2002 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Language Translation Services - All Languages

    Revised 30-Jan-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)