Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 2002 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Nauru Government - 2002

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Nauru
      conventional short form: Nauru
      former: Pleasant Island

      Government type republic

      Capital no official capital; government offices in Yaren District

      Administrative divisions 14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren

      Independence 31 January 1968 (from the Australia-, NZ-, and UK-administered UN trusteeship)

      National holiday Independence Day, 31 January (1968)

      Constitution 29 January 1968

      Legal system acts of the Nauru Parliament and British common law

      Suffrage 20 years of age; universal and compulsory

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Rene HARRIS (since 30 March 2001); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government
      elections: president elected by Parliament for a three-year term; election last held NA March 2001 (next to be held NA 2004)
      election results: Rene HARRIS elected president; percent of Parliamentary vote - NA%
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of Parliament
      head of government: President Rene HARRIS (since 30 March 2001); note - the president is both the chief of state and head of government

      Legislative branch unicameral Parliament (18 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve three-year terms)
      elections: last held 9 April 2000 (next to be held NA April 2003)
      election results: percent of vote - NA%; seats - independents 18

      Judicial branch Supreme Court

      Political parties and leaders loose multiparty system; Democratic Party [Kennan ADEANG]; Nauru Party (informal) [Bernard DOWIYOGO]

      Political pressure groups and leaders NA

      International organization participation ACP, AsDB, C, ESCAP, FAO, ICAO, Interpol, IOC, ITU, OPCW, Sparteca, SPC, SPF, UN, UNESCO, UPU, WHO

      Diplomatic representation in the US Nauru does not have an embassy in the US, but does have a UN office at 800 2nd Avenue, Suite 400 D, New York, New York 10017; telephone: (212) 937-0074
      consulate(s): Hagatna (Guam)

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Nauru; the US Ambassador to Fiji is accredited to Nauru

      Flag description blue with a narrow, horizontal, yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru

      NOTE: The information regarding Nauru on this page is re-published from the 2002 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Nauru Government 2002 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Nauru Government 2002 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Language Translation Services - All Languages

    Revised 30-Jan-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)