Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |Main Index|
  • 2002 INDEX
  • Country Ranks
  • Home PageCountry Index

    Pitcairn Islands Government - 2002

      Country name
      conventional long form: Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands
      conventional short form: Pitcairn Islands

      Dependency status overseas territory of the UK

      Government type NA

      Capital Adamstown

      Administrative divisions none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Independence none (overseas territory of the UK)

      National holiday Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, second Saturday in June (1926)

      Constitution 1838; reformed 1904 with additional reforms in 1940; further refined by the Local Government Ordinance of 1964

      Legal system local island by-laws

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal with three years residency

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by UK High Commissioner to New Zealand and Governor (nonresident) of the Pitcairn Islands Martin WILLIAMS (since NA May 1998); Commissioner (nonresident) Leon SALT (since NA); serves as liaison between the governor and the Island Council
      election results: elected mayor; percent of vote - NA%
      elections: the monarchy is hereditary; high commissioner and commissioner appointed by the monarch; island magistrate elected by popular vote for a three-year term; election last held NA December 1999 (next to be held NA December 2002)
      head of government: Mayor and Chairman of the Island Council Steve CHRISTIAN (since NA)
      cabinet: NA

      Legislative branch unicameral Island Council (10 seats - 6 elected by popular vote, 1 appointed by the 6 elected members, 2 appointed by the governor, and 1 seat for the Island Secretary; members serve one-year terms)
      elections: last held NA December 2001 (next to be held NA December 2002)
      election results: percent of vote - NA%; seats - all independents

      Judicial branch Island Court (island magistrate presides over the court and is elected every three years)

      Political parties and leaders none

      Political pressure groups and leaders none

      International organization participation SPC

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Diplomatic representation from the US none (overseas territory of the UK)

      Flag description blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Pitcairn Islander coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms is yellow, green, and light blue with a shield featuring a yellow anchor

      NOTE: The information regarding Pitcairn Islands on this page is re-published from the 2002 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Pitcairn Islands Government 2002 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Pitcairn Islands Government 2002 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -

    Language Translation Services - All Languages

    Revised 30-Jan-03
    Copyright © 2003 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)