Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Andorra Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Principality of Andorra
      conventional short form: Andorra
      local long form: Principat d'Andorra
      local short form: Andorra

      Data code AN

      Government type parliamentary democracy (since March 1993) that retains as its heads of state a coprincipality; the two princes are the president of France and Spanish bishop of Seo de Urgel, who are represented locally by officials called veguers

      National capital Andorra la Vella

      Administrative divisions 7 parishes (parroquies, singular - parroquia); Andorra, Canillo, Encamp, La Massana, Les Escaldes, Ordino, Sant Julia de Loria

      Independence 1278

      National holiday Mare de Deu de Meritxell, 8 September

      Constitution Andorra's first written constitution was drafted in 1991; adopted 14 March 1993

      Legal system based on French and Spanish civil codes; no judicial review of legislative acts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: French Coprince Jacques CHIRAC (since 17 May 1995) and Spanish Episcopal Coprince Monseigneur Juan MARTI Alanis (since 31 January 1971); note - each coprince is represented by a veguer (French: Jean-Pierre COURTOIS; Spanish: Francesc BADIA Battalla)
      head of government: Executive Council President Marc FORNE Molne (since 21 December 1994)
      cabinet: Executive Council designated by the executive council president
      elections: executive council president elected by the General Council and formally appointed by the coprinces; election last held 16 February 1997 (next to be held NA 2001)
      election results: Marc FORNE Molne elected executive council president; percent of General Council vote - NA

      Legislative branch unicameral General Council of the Valleys or Consell General de las Valls (28 seats; members are elected by direct popular vote, 14 from a single national constituency and 14 to represent each of the 7 parishes; members serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 16 February 1997 (next to be held February 2001)
      election results: percent of vote by party - UL 57%, AND 21%, IDN 7%, ND 7%, other 8%; seats by party - UL 16, AND 6, ND 2, IDN 2, UPO 2

      Judicial branch Supreme Court of Andorra at Perpignan (France) two civil judges appointed by the veguers, one appeals judge appointed by the coprinces alternately; Ecclesiastical Court of the Bishop of Seo de Urgel (Spain); Tribunal of the Courts or Tribunal des Cortes presided over by the two civil judges, one appeals judge, the veguers, and two members of the General Council

      Political parties and leaders National Democratic Group or AND [Oscar RIBAS Reig]; Liberal Union or UL [Francesc CERQUEDA]; New Democracy or ND [Jaume BARTOMEU Cassany]; Andorran National Coalition or CNA [Antoni CERQUEDA Gispert]; National Democratic Initiative or IDN [Vincenc MATEU Zamora]; Liberal Party of Andorra (Partit Liberal d'Andorra) or PLA [Marc FORNE]; Unio Parroquial d'Ordino or UDO
      note: there are two other small parties

      International organization participation CE, ECE, ICRM, IFRCS, Interpol, IOC, ITU, OSCE, UN, UNESCO, WHO, WIPO, WToO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Juli MINOVES-TRIQUELL (also Permanent Representative to the UN)
      chancery: 2 United Nations Plaza, 25th Floor, New York, NY 10017
      telephone: [1] (212) 750-8064
      FAX: [1] (212) 750-6630

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Andorra; US interests in Andorra are represented by the Consulate General's office in Barcelona (Spain); mailing address: Paseo Reina Elisenda, 23, 08034 Barcelona, Spain; telephone: (343) 280-2227; FAX: (343) 205-7705; note - Consul General Maurice S. PARKER makes periodic visits to Andorra

      Flag description three equal vertical bands of blue (hoist side), yellow, and red with the national coat of arms centered in the yellow band; the coat of arms features a quartered shield; similar to the flags of Chad and Romania that do not have a national coat of arms in the center

      NOTE: The information regarding Andorra on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Andorra Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Andorra Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)