Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Aruba Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: none
      conventional short form: Aruba

      Data code AA

      Dependency status part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands; full autonomy in internal affairs obtained in 1986 upon separation from the Netherlands Antilles

      Government type parliamentary

      National capital Oranjestad

      Administrative divisions none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

      Independence none (part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands; in 1990, Aruba requested and received from the Netherlands cancellation of the agreement to automatically give independence to the island in 1996)

      National holiday Flag Day, 18 March

      Constitution 1 January 1986

      Legal system based on Dutch civil law system, with some English common law influence

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard of the Netherlands (since 30 April 1980), represented by Governor General Olindo KOOLMAN (since 1 January 1992)
      head of government: Prime Minister Jan (Henny) H. EMAN (since 29 July 1994) and Deputy Prime Minister Glenbert F. CROES
      cabinet: Council of Ministers (elected by the Staten)
      elections: the queen is a constitutional monarch; governor general appointed for a six-year term by the queen; prime minister and deputy prime minister elected by the Staten for a four-year term; election last held 12 July 1997 (next to be held by December 2001)
      election results: inconclusive; no party won majority in December 1997 parliamentary elections; no new government formed as of May 1998

      Legislative branch unicameral Legislature or Staten (21 seats; members elected by direct popular vote and serve four-year terms)
      elections: last held 12 December 1997 (next to be held by NA December 2001)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - AVP 10, MEP 9, OLA 2; although elections were held 12 December 1997, a new government had not been formed as of May 1998

      Judicial branch Joint High Court of Justice; judges are appointed by the Netherlands monarch

      Political parties and leaders Electoral Movement Party or MEP [Nelson ODUBER]; Aruban People's Party or AVP [Jan (Henny) H. EMAN]; National Democratic Action or ADN [Pedro Charro KELLY]; New Patriotic Party or PPN [Eddy WERLEMEN]; Aruban Patriotic Party or PPA [Benny NISBET]; Aruban Democratic Party or PDA [Leo BERLINSKI]; Democratic Action '86 or AD '86 [Arturo ODUBER]; Aruban Liberal Party or OLA [Glenbert CROES]

      International organization participation ECLAC (associate), Interpol, IOC, UNESCO (associate), WCL, WToO (associate)

      Diplomatic representation in the US none (represented by the Kingdom of the Netherlands)

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Consul General James L. WILLIAMS
      embassy: J.B. Gorsiraweg #1, Curacao
      mailing address: P.O. Box 158, Willemstad, Curacao
      telephone: [599] (9) 461-3066
      FAX: 461-6489

      Flag description blue with two narrow horizontal yellow stripes across the lower portion and a red, four-pointed star outlined in white in the upper hoist-side corner

      NOTE: The information regarding Aruba on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Aruba Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Aruba Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)