Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Dominica Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Commonwealth of Dominica
      conventional short form: Dominica

      Data code DO

      Government type parliamentary democracy

      National capital Roseau

      Administrative divisions 10 parishes; Saint Andrew, Saint David, Saint George, Saint John, Saint Joseph, Saint Luke, Saint Mark, Saint Patrick, Saint Paul, Saint Peter

      Independence 3 November 1978 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 3 November (1978)

      Constitution 3 November 1978

      Legal system based on English common law

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Crispin Anselm SORHAINDO (since 25 October 1993)
      head of government: Prime Minister Edison C. JAMES (since 12 June 1995)
      cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister
      elections: president elected by the House of Assembly for a five-year term; election last held 4 October 1993 (next to be held NA October 1998); prime minister appointed by the president
      election results: Crispin Anselm SORHAINDO elected president; percent of legislative vote - NA

      Legislative branch unicameral House of Assembly (30 seats, 9 appointed senators, 21 elected by popular vote representatives; members serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 12 June 1995; byelections held 13 August 1996 (next to be held by October 2000)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UWP 12, DLP 5, DFP 4

      Judicial branch Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (located in Saint Lucia), one of the six judges must reside in Dominica and preside over the Court of Summary Jurisdiction

      Political parties and leaders Dominica Freedom Party or DFP [Charles SAVARIN]; Dominica Labor Party or DLP [Rosie DOUGLAS]; United Workers Party or UWP [Edison JAMES]

      Political pressure groups and leaders Dominica Liberation Movement or DLM (a small leftist party)

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, C, Caricom, CDB, ECLAC, FAO, G-77, IBRD, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM (observer), OAS, OECS, OPANAL, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WHO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador (vacant)
      chancery: 3216 New Mexico Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20016
      telephone: [1] (202) 364-6781
      FAX: [1] (202) 364-6791
      consulate(s) general: New York

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Dominica; the Ambassador to Dominica resides in Bridgetown (Barbados), but travels frequently to Dominica

      Flag description green with a centered cross of three equal bands - the vertical part is yellow (hoist side), black, and white - the horizontal part is yellow (top), black, and white; superimposed in the center of the cross is a red disk bearing a sisserou parrot encircled by 10 green five-pointed stars edged in yellow; the 10 stars represent the 10 administrative divisions (parishes)

      NOTE: The information regarding Dominica on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Dominica Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Dominica Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)