Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Equatorial Guinea Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: Republic of Equatorial Guinea
      conventional short form: Equatorial Guinea
      local long form: Republica de Guinea Ecuatorial
      local short form: Guinea Ecuatorial
      former: Spanish Guinea

      Data code EK

      Government type republic in transition to multiparty democracy

      National capital Malabo

      Administrative divisions 7 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia); Annobon, Bioko Norte, Bioko Sur, Centro Sur, Kie-Ntem, Litoral, Wele-Nzas

      Independence 12 October 1968 (from Spain)

      National holiday Independence Day, 12 October (1968)

      Constitution approved by national referendum 17 November 1991; emended January 1995

      Legal system partly based on Spanish civil law and tribal custom

      Suffrage 18 years of age; universal adult

      Executive branch
      chief of state: President Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Teodoro OBIANG NGUEMA MBASOGO (since 3 August 1979)
      head of government: Prime Minister Serafin Seriche DOUGAN (since April 1996); First Vice Prime Minister for Foreign Affairs Miguel OYONO (since January 1998); Second Vice Prime Minister for Internal Affairs Demetrio Elo NDONG NGEFUMU (since January 1998)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president
      elections: president elected by popular vote to a seven-year term; election last held 25 February 1996 (next to be held NA February 2003)
      election results: President OBIANG NGUEMA MBASOGO reelected without opposition; percent of popular vote - 98%

      Legislative branch unicameral House of Peoples Representatives or Camara de Representantes del Pueblo (80 seats; members are directly elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 21 November 1993 (next to be held NA 1998)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PDGE 68, CSDP 6, UDS 5, CLD 1

      Judicial branch Supreme Tribunal

      Political parties and leaders
      ruling party: Democratic Party for Equatorial Guinea or PDGE [Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Teodoro OBIANG NGUEMA MBASOGO]
      opposition parties: Convergence Party for Social Democracy or CPDS [Santiago OBAMA, president; Placido Miko ABOGO, secretary-general]; Democratic Social Union or UDS [Camelo MODU, general secretary]; Liberal Democratic Convention or CLD [Alfonso Nsue MIFUMU, president]; Liberal Party or PL [Santos PASCUAL]; National Democratic Union or UDENA [Jose MECHEBA Ikaka, president]; National Movement of the Liberation of Equatorial Guinea or MONALIGE [Dr. Aldolfo Obrang BIKO, president]; Party of the Social Democratic Coalition or PCSD [Buenaventura Moswi M'Asumu, general coordinator]; Party of Progress or PP [Mocache MEINGA, interim chairman]; Popular Action of Equatorial Guinea or APGE [Casiano Masi Edu]; Popular Union or UP [Juan BITUI, president]; Party for Progress of Equatorial Guinea or PPGE [Basilio Ava Eworo and Domingo ABUY]; Progressive Democratic Alliance or ADP [Antonio-Ebang Mbele Abang, president]; Social Democratic and Popular Convergence or CSDP [Secundino Oyono Agueng Ada, general secretary]; Social Democratic Party or PSD [Benjamin-Gabriel Balingha Balinga Alene, general secretary]; Socialist Party of Equatorial Guinea or PSGE [Tomas MICHEBE Fernandez, general secretary]

      International organization participation ACCT, ACP, AfDB, BDEAC, CEEAC, ECA, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAS (observer), OAU, UDEAC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WToO, WTrO (applicant)

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Pastor Micha ONDO BILE
      chancery: Suite 405, 1511 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
      telephone: [1] (202) 393-0525
      FAX: [1] (202) 393-0348

      Diplomatic representation from the US the US does not have an embassy in Equatorial Guinea (embassy closed September 1995); US relations with Equatorial Guinea are handled through the US Embassy in Yaounde, Cameroon

      Flag description three equal horizontal bands of green (top), white, and red with a blue isosceles triangle based on the hoist side and the coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms has six yellow six-pointed stars (representing the mainland and five offshore islands) above a gray shield bearing a silk-cotton tree and below which is a scroll with the motto UNIDAD, PAZ, JUSTICIA (Unity, Peace, Justice)

      NOTE: The information regarding Equatorial Guinea on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Equatorial Guinea Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Equatorial Guinea Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)