Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support our Sponsor

. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries
  • 2001 INDEX
  • 2000 INDEX
  • 1999 INDEX
  • 1997 INDEX
  • 1996 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

  • Home PageCountry Index

    Qatar Government 1998

      Country name
      conventional long form: State of Qatar
      conventional short form: Qatar
      local long form: Dawlat Qatar
      local short form: Qatar
      note: closest approximation of the native pronunciation falls between cutter and gutter, but not like guitar

      Data code QA

      Government type traditional monarchy

      National capital Doha

      Administrative divisions 9 municipalities (baladiyat, singular - baladiyah); Ad Dawhah, Al Ghuwayriyah, Al Jumayliyah, Al Khawr, Al Wakrah, Ar Rayyan, Jarayan al Batnah, Ash Shamal, Umm Salal

      Independence 3 September 1971 (from UK)

      National holiday Independence Day, 3 September (1971)

      Constitution provisional constitution enacted 19 April 1972

      Legal system discretionary system of law controlled by the amir, although civil codes are being implemented; Islamic law is significant in personal matters

      Suffrage none

      Executive branch
      chief of state: Amir HAMAD bin Khalifa Al Thani (since 27 June 1995 when, as crown prince, he ousted his father, Amir KHALIFA bin Hamad Al Thani, in a bloodless coup); Crown Prince JASSIM bin Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, third son of the amir (selected crown prince by the amir 22 October 1996); note - Amir HAMAD also holds the positions of minister of defense and commander-in-chief of the armed forces
      head of government: Prime Minister ABDALLAH bin Khalifa Al Thani, brother of the amir (since 30 October 1996); Deputy Prime Minister MUHAMMAD bin Khalifa Al Thani, brother of the amir (since 20 January 1998)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the amir
      elections: none; the amir is an absolute monarch

      Legislative branch unicameral Advisory Council or Majlis al-Shura (35 seats; members appointed by the amir)
      note: the constitution calls for elections for part of this consultative body, but no elections have been held since 1970, when there were partial elections to the body; Council members have had their terms extended every four years since

      Judicial branch Court of Appeal

      Political parties and leaders none

      International organization participation ABEDA, AFESD, AL, AMF, CCC, ESCWA, FAO, G-77, GCC, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDB, IFAD, IFRCS, IHO (pending member), ILO, IMF, IMO, Inmarsat, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO (correspondent), ITU, NAM, OAPEC, OIC, OPEC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTrO

      Diplomatic representation in the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Saad Muhammad al-KUBAYSI
      chancery: Suite 200, 4200 Wisconsin Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20016
      telephone: [1] (202) 274-1600

      Diplomatic representation from the US
      chief of mission: Ambassador Patrick N. THEROS
      embassy: 149 Ahmed Bin Ali St., Fariq Bin Omran (opposite the television station), Doha
      mailing address: P. O. Box 2399, Doha; pouch address - AMEMB Doha, Department of State, Washington, DC 20521-6130
      telephone: [974] 864701 through 864703
      FAX: [974] 861669
      note: work week is Saturday-Wednesday

      Flag description maroon with a broad white serrated band (nine white points) on the hoist side

      NOTE: The information regarding Qatar on this page is re-published from the 1998 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Qatar Government 1998 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Qatar Government 1998 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please put this page in your BOOKMARKS - - - - -
    Translations - Language Translators

    Revised 21-Dec-01
    Copyright © 2022 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)